Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Does modifying to an SBR require engraving name?

Someone asked me if shortening a carbine to an SBR requires that he engrave his name on the receiver (as the manufacturer). I presume this refers to the new ATF rule that is last I knew still unsettled. I told him it still has the serial number and the law is not yet clear and hold off on that engraving until I can learn more. So, please help? Thanx. (He hasn't done it yet, he is still waiting on the paper work).

According to an article (January, 2016 Truth About Guns):

This is exactly what the ATF told me. As always, I am not a lawyer and this does not constitute legal advice, so if you are concerned feel free to contact one before taking any actions.

It seems like short barreled rifles are all the rage these days. Ever since the advent of the gun trust and ATF’s eForms it has never been easier to register your firearm as an NFA device and chop down the barrel as low as it can go. There’s just one problem: the marking requirement. Ask three people whether you need to engrave your information on your newly registered NFA device and you’ll get three different answers. In an effort to sort out the confusion I asked the ATF directly, and their response actually made perfect sense . . .

Let’s start at the beginning.

Any time a firearm is manufactured with the intent of sale in interstate commerce, the ATF requires that it be marked with the name and location of the manufacturer as well as a serial number. Those individuals who manufacture 80% lower receivers into finished firearms may be familiar with this specific wrinkle, since their guns don’t require any markings until the moment they decide to try to sell them.