Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Storing guns in PA (not another retread)

So I've been researching this for some months, and I've struggled to find any answers of how I can securely store my NFA items in PA. Let's start with the basics

-I am a dual resident of New Jersey, and North Carolina.
    -I purchased all of my items in North Carolina, as a NC resident.
    -At this time all of my NFA items are currently stored securely in a registered location in NC, in a safe which the person storing it has no access to.
    -I know about the proper paperwork required to move my NFA items to another state (Form 5320.20), and would of course have that done before moving them.

I say all that so that you know I've done my homework and to make it clear that I am legally able to own, posses, and (I believe) move these items to PA and store them there. I've also read old similar threads and not found anything applicable.

Avenues I've explored but found lacking

-Safety Deposit box: This seems like a great idea, but the bank being closed on weekends means I would have to take a weekday off to get my items out and use them on weekend shoots in PA. Even if a bank had a big enough box, and were open 8-12 on Saturday, it still wouldn't work because I'd have to wait until Monday morning to turn it in.
    -Storage unit: Would seem to work logistically, but I would not feel comfortable with the theft risk. This might work for magazines.

What I need:
    1) I need to confirm my assumptions: Are there any weird possession or transportation laws in PA pertaining to NFA items beyond Federal law? Any weird magazine restrictions?