Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Shotgun Drills?

(Beaver County)

Default Shotgun Drills?

I'm bored with my shotgun. I've been having way more fun shooting targets with my rifle and pistols so I'm trying to figure out what I can do to have fun with it again. I do dry shotgun combat reloads and firing and reloading from behind cover mostly. There's no need to pattern because I've been using the same gun and ammo for a few years. I used to shoot in the woods and all I did was dump magazines and blow up jugs because I couldn't shoot accurately with a pistol or rifle. I've long since grown out of that ADHD style shooting crap and need to come up with some shotgun specific drills. Any suggestions?

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Shotgun Drills?

Have you considered trap or skeet? Both are great for hand eye coordination, practicing "Point and Shoot", and how to lead a moving target.
    You can always buy a inexpensive thrower and throw targets for yourself.
    Shooting reactive steel is a lot of fun too. If you don't have steel, try balloons.
    Toujours prêt

(Beaver County)

I tried it once and did very poorly. I could try to go when people are doing it at PMSC and try.

I'm trying to build a swinging PVC target stand that will be able to rotate 180 degrees so I can have something reactive to shoot. PVC holds up really well to birdshot compared to wood so I'm building it with that. If I had property to shoot on, I would buy my own steel targets and build heavier stands but transporting all of this crap to PMSC every time I shoot is a pain in the balls.

(Allegheny County)

Quote Originally Posted by Misery Loves Shotguns View Post
    I tried it once and did very poorly. I could try to go when people are doing it at PMSC and try.