Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Walther PPK - No new production

I recently bought a Walther PPQ .45 and I really like it. Was thinking of getting a Walther PPK at some point in the future but noticed that it was not available on a lot of the usual sites I buy guns from. I sent an email to Walther and got this back-

I certainly appreciate your interest in the new PPK. We are currently producing the gun. But I’m unable to release any of the details surrounding the specifics of the design or pricing at this time. Due to foreign licensing issues, the PPK series will not be available until further notice.

Casey Craig
    Gun Technician
    Walther Arms, Inc.

It seems odd to me that Walther Arms USA would have licensing problems with Walther Arms back in the old country, but I guess that's why I'm not a lawyer.

(Lackawanna County)

Default Re: Walther PPK - No new production

Isn't the PPK the Walther than "failed by a point" so it can't be imported?

What about the production of the PPK/S, the gun that Walther produced to work around that "point"?

(Chester County)

Over the past few years PPK's have been produced here in the USA by Smith and Wesson and before that Interarms. I looked into one when I was looking for a compact. I opted for a compact 9mm instead of a .380. The .380 is underpowered and more expensive than a standard 9mm. The legendary PPK that James Bond carried was a .32 calibre.
    Corruption is the default behavior of government officials. JPC

Quote Originally Posted by Democrat Gun Owner View Post
    Isn't the PPK the Walther than "failed by a point" so it can't be imported?

What about the production of the PPK/S, the gun that Walther produced to work around that "point"?