Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lancaster County)

Default 1911 ambi safety removal

Long time fan of the 1911 platform. I've been a mechanic by trade for as long as I've worked. Always a little hesitant to do my own gunsmithing.

Anyways I have a TRP operator and it has an ambi safety. Now this is my open carry firearm of choice. Over time I've noticed I've bumped the safety off accidently through out my day. Maybe hitting the console in my car or something else. I was wondering how manageable it is to swap to a standard safety. Was looking at a Wilson combat or similar. I've seen a lot of ads say they are drop in pieces.

Anyone have any stories or experience here?

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: 1911 ambi safety removal

Have not done so for a while, but I remember going the opposite way and it was quite straightforward and not difficult. I am sure there is a video of this on the web these days that shows how to do it.

(Bucks County)

It should be straightforward. However, there are plenty of safeties that require some minor fitting. I recommend taking it to a gunsmith if you are not confident that you can sand/polish the thumb safety to make it work properly. Plus, it depends on the design of the ambi-side. You might have to replace the pins in the frame.
    DISCOUNTS - Steel Target Paint: beaverje10 (10% off) | Wiland USA: jbeaver05 (5% off)

(Lancaster County)

Thanks for the advice. I haven't found a gunsmith I'm willing to trust yet why I was debating doing it myself. I figured it wasn't overly complicated, but I didn't know if there were horror stories out there. I recall looking at the ambi side and I don't recall how the pin is attached.

I hope most folks are competent enough to swap an ambi safety for a standard safety on a 1911.

The ones that I have owned...you just need to wiggle the ambi safety from the ambi side (IE right hand side) and it should come off.