Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Centre County)

Default Safety glasses vs. glasses, and...gloves?

The two times I've gone shooting so far (class, and then one trip to the range), I wore earplugs, and my everyday glasses. Should I be wearing goggles over the glasses or are my glasses enough?

Should I invest in gloves to protect my hands? I'm a musician so I'm somewhat paranoid about my gun blowing up in my hands rendering it impossible to play music anymore How common are malfunctions/accidents of this kind?

(Warren County)

Default Re: Safety glasses vs. glasses, and...gloves?

Quote Originally Posted by darnskewered View Post
    The two times I've gone shooting so far (class, and then one trip to the range), I wore earplugs, and my everyday glasses. Should I be wearing goggles over the glasses or are my glasses enough?

Should I invest in gloves to protect my hands? I'm a musician so I'm somewhat paranoid about my gun blowing up in my hands rendering it impossible to play music anymore How common are malfunctions/accidents of this kind?
    Kabooms are exceedingly rare. Kabooms that injure shooters even more so.

On The Other Hand, ( pun intended) Your hands are how you make your living.
    I wore flight gloves for 20 years. They are supple and thin and provide some protection.
    If you need fingertip precision, scissors will remove trigger finger material.

Maybe you want a kevlar type degree of protection? I know nothing about that stuff....
    American by BIRTH, Infidel by CHOICE

(Centre County)

Music isn't how I make my living but I'd be pretty devastated if I permanently injured my hands due to a gun malfunction. I'm guessing this is rarer than winning the lottery, so I'll try not to worry too much

(Allegheny County)

I think (but have never verified) that my polycarbonate prescription lenses are less prone to breakage than run of the mill safety glasses.