Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default question about CCW for a fairly new PA resident

Hi - I did a search and couldn't find a similar thread. I am a fairly new resident of PA. I have been here 2 months and moved here from an anti 2nd amendment state, which was a big reason for my move. I have my PA driver's license, a clean record and $20 for the concealed weapons permit application. I went to the Bucks County Courthouse this morning with a completed concealed weapons permit application (including references), my PA drivers license and $20. The deputy ran my background check and could see that I moved to PA about 2 months ago. He asked me when I moved here and I told him. He then said my application would be put on hold until I could produce proof of residency, specifically 2 utility bills; PECO, Comcast etc. I had to produce this info when I changed my driver's license to PA. He said they have a lot of people moving in from my former state. He said I could go to the law library to log onto the computer to get that info or he would refund my money and I could come back with the utility bills. I had to get to work so I decided to come back. Of course this is a huge inconvenience because I don't live in Doylestown. Now I have to take another morning off from work to go back. My questions is this; IS THE REQUIREMENT TO PRODUCE TWO UTILITY BILLS IN ADDITION TO A PA DRIVERS LICENSE, NOTED IN LAW OR IS THAT THE BUCK'S COUNTY SHERIFF'S OWN POLICY? If it is in law, can you tell me specifically where so I can read it?

Thanks for any info you could provide.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: question about CCW for a fairly new PA resident

Never heard of anything like this in Bucks County.

(Montgomery County)

Question Re: question about CCW for a fairly new PA resident

I was also a new resident when I applied.
    Went through local Montgomery County police check first.
    I think that has been eliminated.
    Application rejected.