Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Help me pick my second pistol

/Hi All,
    I'm an existing gun owner. I own/carry daily a Springfield XD subcompact I've been carrying daily for about 4 months. I am shopping for a second firearm. The role of the gun is range use and carry while hiking or fishing. I'd like to maybe OC it occasionally in cold weather.

Absolutely want in my next firearm:
    - Larger firearm.
    - More fun for target shooting / longer range shooting. When I say this however I don't mean pretending to be a sniper. I'd like something effective but challenging in the longer 25-100 yard range common in large indoor or smaller outdoor ranges.
    - Something more tweak-able. My carry gun has a nice set of sights but there's not that much in XD land.

Kind of want in my next firearm:
    - A different and more powerful cartridge than 9mm. I've been leaning towards .357 or 10mm. I fired a glock 20 and it was awesome. I know this will hurt my wallet some compared to 9.

The options right now:
    - Glock 17L or Glock 34 MOS
    - Glock 40 MOS
    - S&W 686 probably 6"
    - Distant possibility, pistol caliber carbine
    - Distant Possibility 1911 in 9 or 10mm

My questions really are:
    - How comfortable/uncomfortable is it to carry a larger gun? I don't want to do it all the time but I'd like to be able to take this out for the day. Obviously I'm not going to carry a 9" overall Glock 40 on a 90 degree day at the mall but I'd like to be able to tote it on hip to the range and back without cursing my stupidity.
    - I've fired a glock 20 and a S&W revolver so I know the rough recoil of these larger caliber handguns for 3-4 rounds but how does that do in the long run? Will I be pissy and sore if I shoot 150 in a session?