Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Fayette County)

Default Proper Private Selling Procedure [Face to Face]

I understand Pa, law when it comes to selling handguns/long guns privately.

I am meeting someone at their local FFL to do a handgun transfer because they are buying a handgun from me.

We agreed on a certain price, I am not concerned about the deal, I just want to know what is the professional way to do a private transaction.

The obvious is we meet at the local FFL.

How should the money be handled. Should the buyer simply hand over the money before going into the FFL, or is it more proper for the buyer to hand over the money in front of the FFL?

I didn't know if it is improper for someone to make a deal right in front of a FFL or not and don't want to look disrespectful or unprofessional.

I have never sold a firearm privately so this is my first time, I tried to google it but could not find anything helpful.

* I am basically just curious when the money should be handed over to me as the seller, should it be outside of the FFL or should it be inside.

One last thing, the guy who is purchasing the firearm said he would print out a form and pre-fill it out and let the FFL know we are coming.

When he says "Print and pre-fill the form" does that mean he is able to simply fill in aspects of the form prior to the FFL giving him one?

I always thought it was the FFL who gave the form and didn't know you could do such a thing.

(Butler County)

Default Re: Proper Private Selling Procedure [Face to Face]

It's none of the FFL's concern what the price is/was. He's just getting his fee for the transfer. (who's paying for that?)
    He can print out anything he wants, but the FFL will give both of you the correct legal forms to fill out.

(Lehigh County)

Smile Re: Proper Private Selling Procedure [Face to Face]