Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Brace vs Plain Buffer Tube on AR Pistols

If I understand the current ATF policy on AR pistol braces, the shooter cannot shoulder the brace but it can be used in a cheek hold position. Is this correct?

If the above is correct I have a question for the AR pistol owners/fans. If I were to purchase an AR pistol, or a lower for build purposes, what is the benefit of the Sig Brace other than the original purpose (strapping it to the forearm)?

Can an AR pistol with buffer tube only be shouldered?

(Wyoming County)

Default Re: Brace vs Plain Buffer Tube on AR Pistols

I'm no lawyer, but that is what several of the gun channels on youtube are saying MAC for one.

I can't answer your other questions. Sorry.

Yes I do have one. It was purchased between the damn conflicting ATF opinions. No I would not buy it again, but no point in selling it for a loss.

Last edited by ExFlyinguy; March 12th, 2016 at 04:47 PM.
    "It seems that the Constitution is more or less guidelines than actual rules"
    My feedback: http://forum.pafoa.org/showthread.php?t=305685

(Erie County)

Quote Originally Posted by MT1 View Post
    If I understand the current ATF policy on AR pistol braces, the shooter cannot shoulder the brace but it can be used in a cheek hold position. Is this correct?

If the above is correct I have a question for the AR pistol owners/fans. If I were to purchase an AR pistol, or a lower for build purposes, what is the benefit of the Sig Brace other than the original purpose (strapping it to the forearm)?

No.

Quote Originally Posted by Aggies Coach View Post
    Cause white people are awesome. Happy now......LOL.

Quote Originally Posted by Gun View Post
    No.
    I should have worded the question differently. Drop the word "only". Can an AR pistol with buffer tube be shouldered?

After rereading my own question I realized it can be interpreted two ways depending on which words are stressed.