Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    The land o' cotton, old times there are not forgotten

Default NRA's new "blended" pistol course?

I've been an NRA certified instructor for decades. I haven't run a formal class in many many years but I keep my certifications active so I can help at the range at summer camp and it adds a level of credibility if someone asks me to teach their wife/girlfriend/kids to shoot.

All that said, it surprised the hell out of me when I read that NRA is eliminating the classroom portion of the Basic Pistol Course. How's that work? Apparently, when someone enrolls in your class, you give them a PIN and a link to an online course. What about those folks who still don't have internet access? The official answer is "send them to the library or borrow a family member's computer."

Now I don't know about the rest of you but I became an instructor because I enjoy teaching and I find that there is value in teaching in a classroom setting. People ask questions, points get clarified, and I look really smart.

I'm sure that all of us have looked up a video on Youtube to learn how to fix something. Pretty handy but if something isn't clear, there's no way to ask for clarification.

NRA claims that this will improve things because instructors won't have to block out as much time for the class and won't have to rent classrooms. Meh.

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: NRA's new "blended" pistol course?

I took the Basic Pistol Course, and I enjoyed the face-to-face interaction with the instructors and others taking the course. Lacking this interaction leaves questions and needed clarifications unanswered.

Maybe the NRA should request currently-certified instructors their opinions on the matter, rather than changing policy.

(Lehigh County)

I agree with you guys.
    Face-to-face instruction is much more useful.

Why can't the NRA offer two types of courses at different prices; inline and in classroom ??
    --ET