Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default B New Tanfoglio Witness Match .45

Yeaa...finally I got my very first handgun. But, now what should I do? I know I know you will say "go to the range and squeeze the trigger". I've read on the internet many people suggest to completely clean and lubing it. But I need help here; what will be the very good "things" to clean this steel gun, what tools (maybe a cleaning tool set??), and then, what oil/grease/ combination/chemical is very good for this steel gun? I assume I'll keep this gun for the next 10K years...Please give me some advice? And another thing; is snap caps good to dry fire practice? Good/bad about it?

(Centre County)

Default Re: B New Tanfoglio Witness Match .45

You soumds like total newb with guns.
    I'd suggest YouTube(Assuming that you read manual that comes with weapon from cover to cover) for some instructional video on how to field strip for initial clean.
    Also, it wouldn't be bad idea to go back to store where you bought the weapon and ask them to suggest you some cleaning products/methods
    Audemus jura nostra defendere

(Philadelphia County)

It is newb. I bought it from Bgunshop online.

(Lackawanna County)

I second the Youtube suggestion. Go and watch several how-to clean/lube pistol videos. You'll catch on soon enough about what is needed. Snap caps are a fine idea. Especially if you don't have experience with the functioning of a semi-auto. Be safe and good luck!

(Philadelphia County)

Thank you will do. I just want to get some suggestions here before the youtube or other forums. Thanks again..

(Bucks County)

I use a can of Rem-Oil for general cleaning. I use either Hoppes gun oil or any brand gun grease in a syringe for lubrication. I rarely shoot unjacketed lead bullets so a bore snake is sufficient for the barrel.