Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Moved back to PA. Permit still valid?

I work in the oil and gas industry and I move around a lot. I was a PA resident before we moved to TX last year and had a resident carry permit out of Erie county. We recently moved back to allegheny county and I'm curious if my resident carry permit which I still have and is not expired is still valid to use as a non resident permit? I am keeping my Texas residency, so gettinga PA drivers license is not an option. I know PA issues non resident permits but wondering if my former permit would switch over to a non-resident permit?

Thanks in advance.

(Mifflin County)

Default Re: Moved back to PA. Permit still valid?

Do you have a Texas license? If not, you're no longer eligible for a PA license. If the sheriff who issued the PA license become aware that you are no longer eligible, he's required to revoke you license.

(Allegheny County)

Quote Originally Posted by IV_Warrior View Post
    Do you have a Texas license? If not, you're no longer eligible for a PA license. If the sheriff who issued the PA license become aware that you are no longer eligible, he's required to revoke you license.
    there is no difference between a PA non-res license and res license. They look the same. A non-res does not say non-red anywhere on it.

Does not seem reasonable to me that it would no longer be valid since you are a non res.

(Lycoming County)

The license is valid until revoked. The problem is that since he moved to Texas and is now a Texas resident he would not be eligible for a pa resident LTCF. The Sheriff would probably revoke the license if he knew the circumstances now. He would need a Texas ccw to be eligible for a PA nonresident LTCF. It doesn't just become a nonresident.

(Dauphin County)

Quote Originally Posted by R L Suehr View Post