Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Using an Attorney or a Company to write a Trust?

I thought it might be beneficial to explain a bit about why you might want to choose an Attorney to write your Trust instead of using a company or a word processor. Additionally, to explain why my fee is more than the companies and out-of-state attorneys.

I set my fee at $500 before discounts. This fee includes the time it takes me to write the documents and the anticipated time it takes to explain the documents themselves and for follow up phone calls with clients over the years. I have not had to charge a client for 'excessive' phone calls on their gun trusts and do not see that happening in the future. I am able to answer questions without qualifying with 'I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice' because, well, I am a lawyer and can actually give legal advice.

In contrast, for those who bought a Trust via a third party, I charge by the hour. I get calls from non-clients who want to ask a question about using their Trust to add a co-Trustee, remove a beneficiary, etc. and have to charge because I have no idea what the wording is for their Trust. I have seen some really horribly written documents pushed out by companies with large 'CONSULT WITH AN ATTORNEY' or 'I AM NOT A LAWYER' disclaimers on them. Some are wholly wrong and missing beneficiary sections, firearms language, prohibited persons language, out-of-state language, funding, assets, etc. The reason that companies and out-of-state lawyers have disclaimers is to avoid being accused of practicing without a license and sometimes to mitigate any 'warranty' claims on the documents. An out-of-state attorney writing your Pennsylvania gun trust should have these same disclaimers. If an out-of-state attorney fails to make these disclaimers they may be committing malpractice. As attorneys, we are required to turn them in under our rules.