Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Washington County)

Question Concealed Carry on board a train?

Hello everyone. I am new to the organization. I have been a 2nd ammendment advocate for as long as I can recall, and have been legaly carrying since I was 21 years old (I am 42 now).

My employer is sending me to Philly early in September for some training, and I plan on taking Amtrak from Pittsburgh to Philly. My question is regarding the laws sourounding concealed carry on board Amtrak trains or at their facilitys and what I should expect and any hints as to how I should handle this trip.

I will have a great deal of extra time on my hands before and after the training session so I will be enjoying the sites of the city and I would not feel comfortable if I was not able to take my pistol with me for the trip.

Thoughts and comments?

Dean

(Franklin County)

Default Re: Concealed Carry on board a train?

You've got three basic choices:

1. Leave the firearm at home
    2. Find a different mode of transportation
    3. Be prepared for lengthy, expensive litigation
    Get your "Guns Save Lives" stickers today! PM for more info.

(Luzerne County)

troll Free. It's all in your mind.

(Washington County)

I was just woundering what law I would be breaking. Is there a federal law that prohibits carry on rail? Or is this similar to carrying in a mall and being asked to leave if found with a gun due to a "policy".

I mean am I looking at a differance of refusal of service or being arrested for violation of some law?
    Last edited by Deanernet; August 7th, 2008 at 07:01 AM. Reason: Spelling
    They who would give up an essential liberty for temporary security, deserve neither liberty
    or security- Benjamin Franklin

I don't know about carrying on the Amtrak.

Little story. My son 19 1/2 travels back and forth from Erie to NYC and back again frequently by Amtrak. Same train times both ways.