Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Students for concealed carry on campus

I am currently a student at a well-known University in Philadelphia. I am also a new gun owner with a LTCF. In the past year, CCW rights and University policies that restrict weapons on campus have become central debate areas with gun-owner rights. Obviously, any logical individual understands both the risks involved with guns on campus as well as the reasons that an individual should be allowed to carry on campus. In my opinion, private universities have greater justification for limiting carry on campus over a state school, however, I am neutral on the topic whether students should be allowed to carry or not.

Two common arguements that have led the debate:

For Carry:

What if a shooting on campus occurs, the gunman is in a classroom, and the police can't get in. The shooter begins taking the lives of students. With my consealed firearm, I can end the situation.

Against:

Students on campus with CF are at a party, drunk. Having the firearm places all students at greater risk.

I would like to know what people think about this topic. After discussing the issue with friends, many are agains the idea for campus carry. As I said, I could go either way.

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: Students for concealed carry on campus

You know everyone is going to be for it, but anyway:

As a college student I'm for it. The type of people that go through all the BS in philly to get a LTCF aren't the type to get wasted and shoot someone at a party.

Police will almost certainly have a response time of 5 minutes or more in most situations and I'd prefer to be shooting back for those 5 minutes than crying in a corner.

As of now my plan if I hear shots fired is to barricade the door and get people ready to throw desks, chairs, and books if the gunman attempts to come in. I would much rather be able to just point my CCW at the door and wait.