Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default PA Resident to Non-Resident Permit

Good morning all,

I'll try to keep this as brief as possible.

I am a former PA resident currently living in California (military transplant that got very used to the great weather with no desire to move back). I had a resident PA permit to carry that expired in 2014 (issued in Montgomery County) and am wanting to apply for my non-resident as I frequently travel back to PA to visit friends and family. It is my understanding that a permit to carry in your current resident state is required (CA - which I have) and the process for a non-resident is the same as for a resident. With that being said...my questions are this:

- Will my application be a new file or a renewal based on having a previous permit?
    - Montgomery County is listed as not favorable for granting non-resident permits; is it worth trying on the basis that I was previously granted one or should I look elsewhere?
    - How do they perform a local records check if I live out of state? Does it take longer because i'm not local? Am I required to process my application in Montgomery County?

Thanks in advance for your help.

(Tioga County)

Default Re: PA Resident to Non-Resident Permit

It will be done as a new LTCF because your LTCF expired in 2014. You can put your Application in to the sheriff of any county. I understand Center county is the best bet.

You must show up in person to gt your photo taken.
    USNRET '61-'81

(Jefferson County)

Quote Originally Posted by ThreeBlockWar View Post
    Good morning all,

I'll try to keep this as brief as possible.