Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lackawanna County)

Default old new again,maybe ?

I could be wrong here, since I've been a member noticed 40 cal. if not there yet it is becoming pariah of handgun calibers. Snappy recoil, rough wear and tear on handgun, unneccessary caliber, to name a few negative comments I've read. Purchased my first of 4 handguns 3 yrs. ago, 2-9mm and 2-45 acp. A good bit of negative p.r., some positive not much though , contributed to my purchases. Also my 58 year old wrists. So I'm still learning, and I've never been one to be ahead of the curve, however i'm buying one more and it's going to be a 40. I'm predicting a resurgence, and I'll have mine and a stockpile of ammo. Now have to find one to fit my needs. Carry size, low recoil. So far taking a hard look at Sig p229 used, new is out of my budget. Wrists are 61 now, so any suggestions ?

Default Re: old new again,maybe ?

I had a 229 & it handled the .40 cal much better than the G23. Nice gun, but I just didn't fall in love with it, like I did my 9mm 226, so I sold it to fund another purchase.
    "It's hard to imagine a more stupid or more dangerous way of making decisions than by putting those decisions in the hands of people who pay no price for being wrong."
    Thomas Sowell

Low recoil good luck. Especially in a carry size.

My Glock 30S in .45ACP has less recoil then my friends HK .40S&W does.

(Berks County)

40 was the last pistol caliber on the shelf in the depths of the ammo shortage. Police trade ins are all 40. Those are the the two things it has going for it. No resurgence is coming. It will eventually be among the ranks of the 218bee 357sig 10mm 32acp 35rem.