Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default I'm a newb, have questions

I got my license to carry in the mail the other day (only took a week and a half after I dropped off the app).

I'm a skinny dude (145 lbs, 5'10") and wear clothes that actually fit me (not into the baggy clothes fad). My question is where do I carry a gun where it won't be completely obvious to the whole world? I'm especially curious as to where I'd put it in the summer, when I wear a t-shirt and shorts.

I guess it'd be easy to figure out if I had one of those "noisy cricket" type tiny weapons, but I'll probably carry my S&W 9mm. I don't even like to carry too much crap in my pockets, so I think I'm going to have a hard time figuring out where to put it.

I know these are goofy questions, but I'm new to all of this.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: I'm a newb, have questions

You'll have a hard time concealing any gun IWB if your clothes "cling" to you. I know alot of people (including me) have had to move up one size in shirts to conceal our stuff. Sacrifices must be made.

(Allegheny County)

I'm in the same boat as you.
    I figure I have two choices...

a. change the way I dress.

b. carry smaller pistol.

I actually did a little of both.

In cooler weather I wear a t-shirt (tucked in) with a button up shirt/jacket over it (un-tucked) to cover carry firearm. I have several "weights" of outer shirts now for different weather. (carry my Colt .380 very easily this way)

In summer, I must carry my Kel-tec in an inside the waistband holster with t-shirt untucked to cover it. It's so light, I can wear shorts and carry.

I never came up with a way to carry my Glock well without wearing a heavy coat and since I'm always hot, if I'm going somewhere indoors, I have to take off the coat defeating the "concealment" part of the carrying thing.

It's a trial and error thing and like choosing a handgun there are some compromises that have to be made.