Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Centre County)

Default Do I really need (want) a Glock 29?

I'm looking at getting a Glock 29, I want it primarily to carry during the winter and while hunting. I've fired a few guns chambered for the 10mm, and I must say that I'm a fan. The only reason I am hesitant is that I'm worried about ammo availability, not necessarily now, but maybe 10-15 years from now. I have some handloading experience, but don't currently own a press. I'm not really worried about the cost of ammo because this will primarily be a carry gun, and I don't plan on having many extended range sessions with it.

Just looking for some opinions on the gun and 10mm in general.

Thanks for any input!

Default Re: Do I really need (want) a Glock 29?

I wouldn't worry about 10mm availability. It's getting more and more popular, and the folks numbers that carry a 10mm Glock in the woods are also growing. It's a good defensive round for two and four legged critters. I'm getting ready to trade out a G41 for a G40, for the woods. Not so much 'cause the 41 doesn't work, but I want that LS 10mm....oh yea.

I'm not keen on shooting animals with a pistol unless you get a good shot and drop it where it is, but this fairly large boar took a 10mm to the gut and exited behind the shoulder on an off camber shot, and it dropped after about an 80 yd run, with one shot.

Last edited by harold63; August 20th, 2015 at 07:32 PM.
    BCM and Glock...for a bigger pile of 'cold dead hands' brass.

(Perry County)

IMO 10mm has survived the period where it could have become obsolete. I believe it will continue to be popular as a niche caliber. It's very good as a semi-auto handgun hunting round. A lot of folks like the power it offers in a self defense handgun. It's pleasant to shoot with the cheap loads as they're not loaded any hotter than .40.

I'm a big 10mm fan. And you have to love the power.

10mm-1.jpg