Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Pike County)

Default Newbie here. My Pike Cnty LTCF experience...

Hi all:

Been lurking around here for several months and moved to Pike a little over a month ago from, you guessed it, NJ. Please don’t hold that against me <grin>. Happy to be in PA now and be a part of the site. After all, joining a firearms group while living in NJ is pointless.

Figured I’d quickly outline my experience with the LTCF process here. Went to the sheriff’s office in Milford after getting my PA DL (an all day affair), walked in and they took my pic and collected $5.00. I had filled out the app and provided 2 friends contact info, both from NJ, no problem there. The clerk, Carol I think, was very nice and mentioned I’d get a letter in 2 weeks. I was the only one there and in and out in 5 mins.

Fast fwd to this week and I get the form letter (generic “Dear Licensee”), back down to the SO with a money order for $14.00 and $1.00 in cash. Carol again, she prints out the paper card laminates it and off I go. Easy as that. Though the form letter made it sound as tho they were doing me the biggest favor ever by granting me the privilege of CC’ing. BTW they never called either reference.

So, that’s my tale. Thanks to all of the posters here as I have learned many things while perusing the various boards, but especially the masters of the universe that I see over and over again. Valuable info indeed.

As for open carrying… I don’t kno. LOTS of NJ and NY folks in town as we are very close to those states. I can see “issues” there. Maybe I’ll give it a try sometime.

Thanks all for reading and see u around. Be safe…
    Your life as it has been, is over...

(Berks County)

Default Re: Newbie here. My Pike Cnty LTCF experience...