Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default 1911 feeding issue

Hey guys got a question I just got my first 1911. It's a Taurus I traded for it is used and only came with one magazine. I will start by saying I have not shot the pistol yet nor had the previous owner however the owner before him had shot it quite a bit. When I insert the magazine I noticed it does not go up the whole way if you attempt to chamber a round it will push the round into the feed ramp. And not chamber. If I hold the bottom of the magazine and push up it will chamber the rounds flawlessly. My question is what could cause this? Is this a magazine issue? Is the mag release? The magazine does not fall out or anything like that. I am new to 1911s. Thanks for any help as usually guys! Upon further review it appears that the first round of the magazine is loaded with it's full 8 rounds just needs to be placed carefully to have the proper pitch to feed. Looks like I need some
    New magazines?
    Last edited by Mastiff4570; March 28th, 2015 at 08:58 PM.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: 1911 feeding issue

There are some good 1911 troubleshooters here who will chime in I'm sure but with those kinds of issues I always start with the mags.

Take a gander at this Hilton Yam 1911 Magazine Article... I'm a BIG Fan of the Yam...

http://www.10-8performance.com/1911-magazines/

Yes, I'd say new mags are in order. I use Wilsons & Chip McCormic mags. Tripps are good too. While you're at it, since the age & round count aren't known, you might want to replace the recoil spring. They're pretty inexpensive. Have fun.
    "It's hard to imagine a more stupid or more dangerous way of making decisions than by putting those decisions in the hands of people who pay no price for being wrong."
    Thomas Sowell