Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default My first Colt revolver.

I just came across an excellent condition Colt Trooper 38 special. Only thing is it's missing the ejector rod cap (that's an easy fix). This one was sitting in a LGS, and after checking it out, I decided it needed to come with me.

I'm not a Colt expert, so any help on the details is much appreciated. From what little I know, this Trooper was made before they mounted the firing pin on the frame (it has a hammer mounted pin). I THINK that means it has the lock-work of the Python series, not the later Trooper versions.

The action is very light and smooth. I'm used to S&W and Ruger revolvers, and this trigger blows them both out of the water (even my Ruger Match Champion gets beat by this Colt).

Bluing is beautiful to look at. Now apparently checking the carry-up and timing on these OLDER Colts is a completely different procedure than the Smiths and Rugers. From what I've gathered, timing is checked by cocking the hammer and watching the bolt do various things at various times. When I check the timing like on a Ruger or Smith by pulling the trigger and waiting for the bolt to lock before the hammer falls, I get a VERY late timed gun. But when I cock the hammer slowly and watch the bolt, the bolt locks a millisecond before the hammer reaches full cock, and I've read that this is just fine.

Of course the cylinder is welded to the frame in all directions when the trigger is held back.

All in all I'm very impressed with my first Colt revolver. I'm still learning about these Colts so any advice or feedback is greatly appreciated.

Last edited by American1776; March 13th, 2015 at 05:02 PM.

(Delaware County)

Default Re: My first Colt revolver.

ENVEY!!!!!!!!

That revolver is one of my grail guns.

Congrats,

Kobsw

(Allegheny County)