Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Dauphin County)

Default Private Sales out of State??

I can imagine this has been asked before but I am having difficulty finding the thread or threads that address this.

I am a PA resident with a PA drivers license. If I find a hand gun for sale out of state (OH, W.VA, MD, NY, NJ). Could I drive to the other state (OH, etc) and purchase a handgun from a private seller and do the transfer at an FFL in the other state (OH, etc.)?

I am finding guns that I am interested in that are worth the drive for me but have never purchased a handgun or any firearm out of the great state of PA.

Thanks for any info...or links that could answer my question

(Washington County)

Default Re: Private Sales out of State??

I believe the handgun has to be transferred at a FFL in your residing state(Pa).

Any options to ship to your FFL?
    FOAC Member, NRA Member

No. The handgun must be shipped and transferred to you via a PA ffl
    Last edited by God's Country; March 4th, 2015 at 11:21 AM.
    FUCK BIDEN

(Dauphin County)

Thanks guys. Quick and informative.

(Cumberland County)

Not to hijack the thread, but to close the loop for the benefit of others (myself included) --

What is the law on long guns?
    Soap Box - Worn out : Ballot Box - Broken : Jury Box - Pending : Ammunition Box - Unknown

Quote Originally Posted by daschnoz View Post
    Not to hijack the thread, but to close the loop for the benefit of others (myself included) --

What is the law on long guns?
    You can buy long guns out of state, but they must go through an FFL. Also, the seller can bring the gun to PA, and have an FFL do the transfer here. Either way, you have to go though an FFL for all out of state transfers.

(Chester County)

Synopsizing the Federal restrictions for interstate private sales :