Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default A legal question

My cousin Chris received a letter in the mail yesterday from the District Attorney's Office. Long story short, he fraudulently collected around $8000 in Unemployment and now the D.A. and Unemployment are filing a criminal summary offense against him. He currently has his LTCF in Philadelphia and is the person who got me in to guns. He's never been arrested before and is an all around good citizen, except for the illegal $8000 he collected from Unemployment. He asked me what he could possibly face as far as his LTCF, fines, and jail time go. I have no clue since I'm not a lawyer, maybe someone here can shed some light on the subject for me to tell him what to expect. He has every intention on repaying the money and is just worried about what this will do to his life.

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: A legal question

This is the latest information I have on this....

ARE THERE PENALTIES FOR FRAUD?

Anyone who makes false statements or who knowingly withholds information to illegally obtain benefits can be prosecuted. If convicted, the person must repay the full amount and, if repayment is not made, a lien may be filed against the person to recover the money. A fine of up to $200 and 30 days in jail for each check illegally obtained can be imposed. The individual is then ineligible to receive unemployment compensation for one year following the date of the conviction.

SO.. if he received 10 checks he would be fined $2000 ($200 X 10 ).... and could be in jail for 300 days......

That is the worse that could happen.... unless they determine that he exceeded the requirements to be charged with a felony.....

THEN.... he can no longer maintain his rights to vote, firearms..etc...

Sorry... but this is the information I got online.....

(Bucks County)