Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Auto Powder measurer?

So I am in the market for an auto powder measurer. I am looking between the Hornady, RCBS and Lyman Gen6. What does everyone use and what would you recommend if you aren't satisfied with what you use?

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Auto Powder measurer?

The dispenser/scale most frequently praised on reloading forums is the RCBS unit. I have no experience with the other units you have mentioned.

My first unit was a Pact. It did a below average job of being consistent, did it slowly, and broke after ~18 months.

Bought an RCBS and it is much better. But rest assured it is not perfect. people will tell you about "the straw mod" to minimize overthrows. It does improve things, but that is not the main issue with the unit.

The problem is in the scale. It suffers from the same issues that all scales <$500 (standard strain gauge scales) do . . . they are not consistent and do not respond well to trickling. In order to improve performance, a mag force restoration scale would likely be required, and that would probably bring the dispenser/scale price to ~$700.

For pistol and 223 plinking ammo, I prefer to use a standard PM mostly on a progressive press. It's just as consistent as a dispenser when using spherical powders.

For stick powders and precision rifle I currently use the RCBS unit to throw low, and then trickle up using a mag force digital scale. Since I weigh every charge the RCBS throws, I can tell you that about 80% of mine are +/-0.1gr from the target. The rest are not.

YMMV.

(Beaver County)

Been using the RCBS Chargemaster combo for 6 or 7 years now. Has loaded 10's of thousands of rounds and hasn't failed yet. My biggest complaint was the speed at which it trickled the powder. Well there is a hack for that and now it works even better.

Just one warning.