Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: non-res PA LTCF

(Northampton County)

Default non-res PA LTCF

Hello all, I'm a first time gun owner and have a couple of quick questions. Sorry if they're repeats. I'm a resident of Maryland (sucks, I know), and go to Lehigh University in Lehigh County PA. I'm currently taking a basic firearms class down here in anticipation of taking a personal safety / home protection class. I own a .40 Sig P229.

I saw that Center county is where I should apply for a LTCF. On the form, it asks for a photo copy of my home state's carry license. I do not have a CCW permit from MD or any other state (planning on getting a Utah or Florida permit in coming months). What do I need to do? Does my school box (not a P.O. box, it's a campus post office) count as a technical PA residence (I am actually registered to vote from this address)? In the next month I'll be renting an appt for the upcoming school year, does it count?

Also, I've been trying to educate myself more and more on the current state laws. I've read the leaflet and see OC is legal in PA without a LTCF. Is it possible to transport a handgun in a vehicle and then OC when walking around? I know you are only allowed to transport a firearm unloaded, not accessible, and to and from allowed locations. Does this prohibit you from driving somewhere with the intent of OC while not in your car? If not, what is the proper/acceptable way to load your gun in public?

sorry for the lengthy post,
    -Dave

oh, can anyone recommend a good indoor range in the Lehigh Valley area?
    Last edited by DaveInMD; July 10th, 2008 at 02:56 PM.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: non-res PA LTCF

Quote Originally Posted by DaveInMD View Post
    On the form, it asks for a photo copy of my home state's carry license. I do not have a CCW permit from MD or any other state (planning on getting a Utah or Florida permit in coming months). What do I need to do?