Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Citadel Full Size M-1911

On impulse, I ordered one from Bud's. It's going to be delivered to my FFL in the next week or so.

It was an impulse buy...one done without large amounts of research. I know, stupid on my part, but the price was right for what it comes with. Next to my first wife, this is the first time buying before trying...and that didn't turn out too well.

What, if any, issues are out there with these handguns?
    "A free people ought to be armed."--George Washington

(Mercer County)

Default Re: Citadel Full Size M-1911

For the money you spent, you won't get hurt, Brother. I personally wouldn't carry one, but I'd have fun with it at the range.
    There's no such thing as a free lunch.

(Allegheny County)

I've been carrying a 9mm for the last 10 years or so.

I was looking for something to play with at the range as well getting back into the 1911 platform. The fact that it's a 70 series variant attracted me to it. Is something wrong with it's reliability?
    "A free people ought to be armed."--George Washington

(Mercer County)

Quote Originally Posted by stringplucker View Post
    I've been carrying a 9mm for the last 10 years or so.

I was looking for something to play with at the range as well getting back into the 1911 platform. The fact that it's a 70 series variant attracted me to it. Is something wrong with it's reliability?
    I would carry a $500 Glock/XD/MP etc. over a $500 1911 all day, every day, and twice on Sunday. To be done right, the 1911 needs good parts, and great fitting of those parts. That costs money, unfortunately. I tell people this: if you want to experiment with a 1911, buy whatever one you want. If you like it, buy a good one. Dan Wesson, Baer, WC, EB, etc. Those will run every bit as well as a Glock.