Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default How much pressure should be required to operate a press?

i am pretty new to reloading. My set up is a RL550B with Lee dies. i have about 600 or so 9mm rounds loaded with this set up.

I set up my press for .38 today for the first time and I notice that quite a bit more force is required to get the brass through the dies than with the 9mm. It's not binding on anything (Well, not after I adjusted the flare correctly) but still much tighter than the 9mm.

Is this normal? They are the right dies (I checked the stamping). I don't want to damage anything

(Washington County)

Default Re: How much pressure should be required to operate a press?

Are you using carbide dies? Some force will be used for depriming/resizing, especially with larger brass.

A little force is normal, breaking a sweat or hands is not.
    FOAC Member, NRA Member

(Bucks County)

Sum Ting Wrong ... .38 is a little longer than 9mm but it's a straight-walled case and should go easily...especially using carbide dies (are you?) Are you lubing the cases too much? You could be inducing a hydraulic resistance. BTW, carbide dies require no lube.

Second thought... what are you firing the .38s in? You may have oversized chambers in which case the shell will be a bit harder to resize.

(Montgomery County)

Quote Originally Posted by Bang View Post
    Sum Ting Wrong ... .38 is a little longer than 9mm but it's a straight-walled case and should go easily...especially using carbide dies (are you?) Are you lubing the cases too much? You could be inducing a hydraulic resistance. BTW, carbide dies require no lube.

Second thought... what are you firing the .38s in? You may have oversized chambers in which case the shell will be a bit harder to resize.
    Sum Ting Wuz Wong Awight.

I read the responses then went to the press and ran only 1 round through the dies.