Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default PA and Federal laws on custom building a gun?

I was at the gun show in Monroeville a couple weeks ago, and I saw some vendors selling unfinished receivers for an AR15 / M16 build. I don't know the details, but from what they said, it seems it is legal to build a gun of your own, you just can't sell it, and that's what those unfinished receivers were for. Not all the machining was done.

Also, from what I've been told, the AR15 / M16 design has tons of aftermarket parts, and only the lower receiver is serialized, so anything else can be changed.

How does that apply to semi-auto vs. full-auto? Would it still be illegal to make a custom full auto gun?

(Carbon County)

Default Re: PA and Federal laws on custom building a gun?

I'm not a lawyer. Most of my sources would be from reading this board. Check my answers for correctness.

It is perfectly legal to build your own firearm. It is also legal to sell that firearm, but you cannot build it with the intent to sell it. It is not legal to manufacture a full auto firearm without extensive licensing from the ATF.

(Franklin County)

Quote Originally Posted by marketermac View Post
    I'm not a lawyer. Most of my sources would be from reading this board. Check my answers for correctness.

It is perfectly legal to build your own firearm. It is also legal to sell that firearm, but you cannot build it with the intent to sell it. It is not legal to manufacture a full auto firearm without extensive licensing from the ATF.
    Short, simple, and correct.

(Washington County)