Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Advice on traveling to Erie this time of year

Hello, all! I'm an IL resident (with IL CCW) who needs to travel to PA to get my PA CCW permit. I was in the Cleveland area in August visiting friends, and should have driven the bit east to get to Erie, but I wanted to get home, and so I didn't. Kicking myself now.

How is it on traveling to Erie this time of year? Significant lake effect? Or should I just put it off until the spring? I'd be driving from the Chicago area.

Thanks!

(Lackawanna County)

Default Re: Advice on traveling to Erie this time of year

It can be fine one minute and you go inside only to come out to your car buried in snow. I'm from that area and i limit my trips to May through September. Others may not have the same impression as me

(Erie County)

Right now the weather is beautiful, if you do come during a storm make sure that you have snow tires and you will do just fine.

(Bucks County)

I grew up in Erie. We used to say if you don't like the weather, wait 5 minutes. It'll change.

Just check the forecast for significant snow fall, and have some food and extra clothing in your car, along with a flashlight and other safety gear.

If your car is in good operating condition, you should be good to go.

(Erie County)

The snow comes off the lake in "bands", certain areas will get nothing, others will get buried.
    As others have said, plan your trip by the weather reports. Wait until little or no snow, or freezing rain, is forecast.
    Typically Ohio roads will be salted/plowed better.
    Also call ahead to make sure the Sheriff's office is open.
    The most dangerous place in America is a "gun free" zone.

(McKean County)

Quote Originally Posted by Marie13 View Post