Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 18 1234511 ... LastLast
    (Dauphin County)

Default Finally, First OC encounter with the Police.

In my daily work, I have the rare opportunity to OC all day wherever I go. As I was driving from one job to the next, I was involved in a minor accident. The realization came upon me that I would likely have some sort of confrontation with the local police (Susquehanna Twshp). So, as I waited, I steeled myself for whatever lay ahead.

The officer that arrived immediately asked if I was a police officer. I answered "no". He asked if I had a permit, which I explained that I did not need if I was on foot, but did for carrying in my truck. He accepted this and did not ask for my permit.

However, he told me (not asked) that he was going to disarm me for the classic "officer's safety". I said no, he repeated his demand, and I again refused. He looked confused, repeated his demand a third time and told me to put my hand on the roof of my truck to remove my sidearm.

I was rather annoyed, but for expediency in the accident report, I 'let him' remove my sidearm, still maintaining my request to keep it.

He had proper muzzle control, but did not unload it.

After filling out the accident report, I explained to him that the 'officer safety' phrase was a bit of a misnomer, as I was just as concerned with my safety as he was. He explained that he did not know who I was from Adam, and I countered with the same. As he returned my sidearm, he asked if I was going to shoot him with it. I could think of nothing else to say except "Heck no!". (You would think the officer would realize that any anger I was feeling had nothing to do with him at all - hence why would the thought even enter his mind?)

I handed him a PAFOA flyer, asked him to read it, upon which he finished his business, and left.