Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Wayne County)

Default Question about purchasing a pistol in PA

Hi, I'm new to PA and I have a question about handguns. I'm very close to purchasing a vacation home in beach lake PA, just 15 minutes from Honesdale. I have a NY driver's license with a NYC address on my license. I was never convicted of a crime and can pass the NICS check no prob. I was told that I just need a property tax or utility bill of my residence in Beachlake and I can walk into a gun store and buy whatever I want. A License is not even needed, is this true? please correct me if I'm wrong. I will not be bringing any firearm into NY. I want to purchase a Beretta 90s series for home defense when I'm at my PA house on weekends and to go to the range with in PA. Thanks in advance for any help.

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: Question about purchasing a pistol in PA

There's no licensing requirement for firearms purchases in PA. However, to comply with federal law you must be a resident of this state to buy a handgun here.

Q: May a person (who is not an alien) who resides in one State and owns property in another State purchase a handgun in either State?
    If a person maintains a home in 2 States and resides in both States for certain periods of the year, he or she may, during the period of time the person actually resides in a particular State, purchase a handgun in that State. However, simply owning property in another State does not qualify the person to purchase a handgun in that State.
    [27 CFR 478.11]
    https://www.atf.gov/content/firearms...censed-persons

Yep no PA state DL no hand gun. You maybe able to purchase a shotgun that would be legal to own in NYS and leave it in your home in PA. Finding a dealer that will sell you anything could be a real PITA because of the NY city home address thanks to the past efforts of Mayer Bloomberg.

(Wayne County)

Quote Originally Posted by Hodgie View Post