Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Is it wrong to only clean with patches?

For the past two years I've only used cotton patches and solvents to clean my barrel. As I understand the purpose of jag's and brushes cleans quicker but also cleans out the rifling. In using patches am I doing enough to clean out the fouling?

Glade Mill Lake, Cooperstown, Pennsylvania
    (Butler County)

Default Re: Is it wrong to only clean with patches?

Quote Originally Posted by Huntingdonhavoc View Post
    For the past two years I've only used cotton patches and solvents to clean my barrel. As I understand the purpose of jag's and brushes cleans quicker but also cleans out the rifling. In using patches am I doing enough to clean out the fouling?
    I'm no gun expert, but I've always used patches and I think so long as you clean till they come out clean you're doing a good job. All the new primers are non-corrosive, so that's not an issue. I'd say the brushes are more for the tough stuff, but I'm also not an expert.

If the bore is clean when you're done then I don't think it really matters how you got there.

what do the gun cleaning experts think?

(Lehigh County)

Are you saying "cleans out the rifling" as in, removes the rifling? If you are, the brass brushes are softer than the steel barrel and will not hurt the rifling. What do you think happens when you shoot a lead jacketed bullet through your barrel?

(Chester County)

I am anal about my bore, so I use the workes every time all the time. I have 9,100 rounds through my Glock 30 and the bore looks brand new and shiny. All of my bores look the same way. I am just super anal, keep that in mind. Like some one said if it is clean who gives a flying donkey fart how you got it to that stage.

When injustice becomes law, rebellion becomes duty!

(Berks County)