Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Help a newbie out re: where/what to buy

Ok, so I've been reading these forums for a while now but I try to keep to myself because I'm a newb. Now here's my predicament. I'm always asking different folks about different things and I always get different responses and suggestions, which is great but I'm still at a loss with a lot of stuff. What I am asking is for suggestions on some various things like what and where and how.

Below are a few items I would like to pick up while I have the loot and the rights to do so. The question is exactly what should I be picking up and where. FYI, money isn't the object here. I'll spend a little extra to get high quality items, not el-cheapo stuff that I can't get work done on or extra parts for.

FYI, I live in the city and don't get a chance to "plink around" much so I'm more-so getting these items as an exercise of my rights, home defense, and for occasional plinking.

Ak-47 - I'd like one (or 5) for the wall. I've been hearing a lot about ammo availability.
    My Question is: What should I be looking for being that I am interested in high quality production and parts, ammo availability, TCO (total cost of ownership) and where can/should I find this at the best cost-quality ratio. What should my considerations be with a purchase of this firearm?

AR-15 - It's been suggested that I buy a complete upper and lower rather than an assembled unit. I'd like to have one of these for the sake of having one. No reason outside of that.
    My Question: Suggestions on where to buy this? Brands? Considerations when doing so?

Hunting Rifle - It's been suggested that I look into a Tikka Lite .308. This unit will only see the woods for 3 days a year and might see a target here and there til I can find a local range. So it's use will be minimal but I want something that will last me til I am an old man and can pass this on to someone else.