Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default Pistol for practice

Hi everybody. I am a newbie when it come to handguns. My wife and I just completed the NRA pistol safety class (good class!) and now we're getting started with gun shopping.

We both think that revolvers are the way to go for the sake of simplicity. I am leaning towArd the ruger sp 101 chambered in .357 with a 3 " barrel.

She is thinking a .22 is more her speed. I tried to get her to consider a larger caliber but she's not ready for that, having never handled a gun prior to our class.

Here's the question - Ruger makes an sp 101 chambered with a .22 - the only difference between that gun and the .357 I want is that the .22 has a 4" barrel.

Would practice with the .22 translate to any kind of proficiency with the .357? I like the cost effectiveness of practicing with the .22 ammo,but I really like the idea of her developing the skills necessary to work with the .357 if necessary.

Am I right with this line of thought?

What does everyone else think ?

Thanks for your input.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Pistol for practice

You're right on the money. The only differences between a .22 and a .357, when it comes to practice, is the cost of ammo and the recoil. It's not uncommon for people to save money by practicing with a .22 in the same platform. The skill set is pretty much the same and what you learn on the .22 will translate to the .357 (except for recoil management ).
    Toujours prêt

(Mercer County)

Welcome to pafoa!!! You should stay away from rugers and revolvers. All the cool guys and expert shooters shoot hi point.

(Lycoming County)

Quote Originally Posted by wakefield724 View Post
    Welcome to pafoa!!! You should stay away from rugers and revolvers. All the cool guys and expert shooters shoot hi point.

(Lycoming County)