Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default Conceal carry safety question/intro

Howdy. I'm looking for some answers regarding pistols for Conceal Carry purposes.

Although I guess a bit of an introduction is in order.

I'm 43 and I've spent a lot of years hunting, but I have no experience with handguns. Due to a recent change in the atmosphere of our neighborhood, it has become necessary for my wife and I to be more proactive in protection of our family and property. The revelation of how prevalent the drug trade is has also driven our desire to explore our right to carry.

Prior to this, neither of us had much opinion of handguns, good or bad, aside from the fact that we were sure we would never have a need for one. It just wasn't something that we saw as a hobby we would pursue. Now we feel otherwise.

That being said, as I read and educate myself , I am seeing that a lot of handguns do not have a manual safety. Based on my hunting background, I am having trouble coming to grips with this.

When you carry a concealed weapon, what is preventing accidental discharge of the weapon? Is it so secure in the holster that it isn't an issue? Is there some other way to prevent accidental discharge?

I know that the reason you carry a weapon is to have it ready to go at a moment's notice, but are all of you carrying a gun that is one trigger bump away from firing?

I'm just having visions of driving in the minivan and somehow accidentally firing a weapon and hurting my wife or child, or picking up a child and bumping a trigger.

How does all that work?

Thanks for any input you can give, I'm at a bit of a loss with this.

HB

(Northampton County)

Default Re: Conceal carry safety question/intro