Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Transfer to NJ

(Delaware County)

Default Transfer to NJ

I am a PA resident and have a Smith mod 19 handgun that I want to sell/transfer to my nephew who lives in NJ. He has been approved to purchase two handguns and has the forms to do so. Does anyone know how we should proceed? Thanks for any input.

Bob D

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Transfer to NJ

I believe (but I'm often wrong, ask my wife) that you would want to have a PA FFL dealer transfer it to a NJ FFL dealer for him to then take ownership without getting yourself into any legal issues in NJ.

You might be able to skip the PA FFL if you ship it yourself to the NJ FFL but would CYA better going though the PA FFL. Not that I don't trust NJ anti gun policies.
    Last edited by G19; May 14th, 2014 at 03:53 PM.

IIRC NJ allows the transportation of a handgun to a FFL, but for all I know that's for residents. The safe way would be to have a Pa FFl send it to the NJ FFL of your nephew's choice. That way your covered and you stay out of that hell hole.
    FUCK BIDEN

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by God's Country View Post
    IIRC NJ allows the transportation of a handgun to a FFL, but for all I know that's for residents. The safe way would be to have a Pa FFl send it to the NJ FFL of your nephew's choice. That way your covered and you stay out of that hell hole.
    I see where statute allows for travel FROM an FFL...but I don't see it allowing travel TO an FFL. Every other exception specifies "To or from"