Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default I'm always in the 7-8 o'clock area, what am I doing wrong?

Every time I shoot any pistol, I am always grouping 7-8 o'clock. Its very consistent between pistols. I also get better and tighter groups doing rapid fire, than I do if I take my time...
    I have tried swapping the grip out on my XDS, thinking the larger grip is deflecting my trigger finger when I pull.

I have been shooting pistols for over twenty years and all my accurate pistols seem to group in the same area. mark II, XDS, and PT-99

This weekend after growing tired of practicing fundamentals, I drifted the rear sight to the right, now I'm am right on the center line with quick follow ups on a 7 round magazine, and about 3" line, not perfect, but I can walk it where I want to on the follow up at about 10 yards.
    The rear sight was drifted a heavy 1/8" , it looks funky, but its working well. I did not shoot any further, but still wonder what I may be doing wrong and how to correct it. I have smaller hands, size 9 gloves, and used the smaller grip.
    The only thing I can think of, is I typically have always used my finger tip, more on the pad of my finger tip, not the first knuckle, and I learned this shooting rifles 40 years ago, I wonder if there is a slight deflection?
    Last edited by tollster; April 29th, 2014 at 06:33 PM.
    "North of I-80, we don't dial 911, we dial 223"

(Lancaster County)

Default Re: I'm always in the 7-8 o'clock area, what am I doing wrong?

I think that's anticipating recoil?

(Bucks County)

If you find a cure, let me know. I do the same thing. I changed the point of contact on my trigger finger, and same results. I drifted the rear sight a little on my M43 and it put me in line. There has to be a reason.

Usually shooting low and to the left indicates bad trigger control (right handed shooting). There are other possibilities, but if it's across multiple firearms, it's you that's the problem.