Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Berks County)

Default accuracy with 55gr using 1in7 twist?

Ok I was having a conversation with someone today and he stated that a 1in7 twist barrel works best for accuracy with 75gr bullets and that using 55gr I would have trouble getting small groups.
    Now I am new to rifle shooting so pretty sure I won't have small groups anyway but I would like to know if it is because of technique or equipment.

Anyone have a 1n7 barrel shooting the 55gr ammo experiencing accuracy issues?
    Thanks,
    Steve

Default Re: accuracy with 55gr using 1in7 twist?

itll stabilize them fine. ask yourself how far do you regulary shoot? are you buying cheap ammo? carbine or rifle? if your answers are <100yd, yes, and carbine. it realy doesnt matter what twist you get.

(Franklin County)

1/7 does better than 1/9 with heaver projectiles but will stabilize 55's fine. I prefer 1/7 or 1/8 for my purposes but if a varmit 223 light grain(50<) I'd want a 1/9. Just my 2¢.

(Chester County)

The U.S. armed forces standard 5.56 round is 62 grains, and they use 1/7. 1/7 will stabilize 55 grains just fine. My Colt M4/le6920 is 1/7, and I can tell no difference in accuracy between 55 grain, and 62 grain.

(Lawrence County)

My 1:9 guns consistently outshoot my 1:7 barrels with 55gr rounds.

YMMV

Lycandidtheworkthrope

I taught Chuck Norris to bump-fire.

This guy makes some good vids.

The twist rate isn't going to make the rifle more accurate. The twist rate is going to mean the difference between being able to stabilize X weighted projectile.

If your friend's flawed logic was true...that would mean that an ER Shaw barrel would outshoot a Krieger barrel if the twist was "better" since it has a 1:7 twist using 75gr projectiles.

The fact is for most people using AR15s a 1:9 twist will work for most people.

I personally choose to go 1:7 since I use 55gr, 62/64gr and 75gr bullets.