Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default My first hair raising experience (boring story, but a question at the end)

I have been carrying for a little over 5 years (mostly CC, some OC), and thankfully outside of training have not come into a situation where I had to start to think about what I needed to do to defend myself until the other night. (not that I haven't thought about it, just never needed to)

My wife and I like to take our 3 year old daughter on walks each night after dinner. The other night my wife had to work late but it was nice so my daughter and I still went. I always have my 1911 OWB but covered with me on these because my 3 year old still can't keep up if I jog.

We were walking around a condo complex not far from my house. I saw a dog coming from one of the internal paths of the complex, so I kept her a little extra close because she is still learning not to go up to unknown dogs. The dog looked fine, but the owner looked off. Best way to describe is if I told you to go to your closet and pick out an outfit to look like a clown, then leave it in your yard for 2 weeks before wearing it. Also then get a hat that claps when you push a button hanging from it. (I know when doing yard work I can look pretty bad, it was the hat that made me nervous). We slow and he passes about 15 yards in front of us and heads to a dumpster across the drive, and back over. I give him a polite hello, and he heads back down the internal path and we stay on the outside of the complex. His path led him away from the direction we were going.

As he is walking away I notice he has a large rock in his right hand (size of a large grapefruit). We were already heading out of the complex, so we just keep going.