Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default Sources of brass and bullets any real differences?

I am just getting started reloading and have a few really silly questions.

Buying brass new isn't a lot cheaper than buying the actual ammunition. For example, 9MM Remington is about .23 each. Is there any really difference in using cleaned, brass from you own gun? Better still, you can buy once fired brass about .04. At that price is it really worth collecting cleaning your own?

The same for bullets, is there much difference (assuming the same type such as FMJ) from one brand to another?

What about hard cast bullets? Are they suitable for a typical handgun such as a Glock or similar for target use?

Neil

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: Sources of brass and bullets any real differences?

Handgun brass if loaded light will last for a very long time, I have 9MM and 38 brass that I have no idea as to how many times I have reloaded it. Nickel brass never seemed to hold up as well as yellow brass for me.

Just starting out reloading I would check out Rainier or Berry plated bullets for range use. Both are much cheaper than jacketed bullets.

Cast bullets are the cheapest of the three, however if you don’t know what you are doing, they can give a new reloader fits. Commercially cast bullets for one will be .001or more over their jacketed counter part.

So now you must set your expander die deeper. This can cause feeding problems for the new reloader.

Cast bullets must be lubed, this to can cause feed problems, and gum up your dies and change your seating depth depending on the lube used.

Also the FPS of a cast bullet needs to match the hardness of the bullet. too fast or slow for the alloy, and you will start getting barrel leading.