Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 15 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: First AR

(Montgomery County)

Default First AR

I'm looking into picking up my first AR-15. I'm a total noob when it comes to ar brands and components. I'm looking to spend from 600-900. I don't even know where to start.

1. What brands do I stay away from?
    2. Should I buy new or used? Seems like you get more for your money used
    3. Will I find a decent ar in the lower end of my budget?
    4. Can I "build" my own in my budget?

I have currently have:
    A. sig 1911
    B. m&p .40
    C. Savage 111 in .270
    D. Remington Wingmaster 870 12g
    E. Remington Sportmaster 512 .22

Like I said this is going to be my first AR but not my first gun just haven't researched it and I'm not too familiar with them!

Default Re: First AR

1- I won't tell you what brands to stay away from, but if you get a Colt, BCM, or Daniel Defense, you can't go wrong.

2- You can sometimes find new Colt 6920's for around $900. Keep checking in the classified section in this forum & you'll run across something. Used AR's are sometimes a good deal.

3- Maybe

4- building an AR is very easy. The lower goes together in about 20 minutes. For a first build, I'd get a fully assembled upper. The upper is really the heart of the gun, so spend as much as you can afford on the upper. Palmeto State Armory is a good place to check out options for a lower build. For the upper, try Bravo Company. They make top notch stuff.
    "It's hard to imagine a more stupid or more dangerous way of making decisions than by putting those decisions in the hands of people who pay no price for being wrong."
    Thomas Sowell

(Berks County)

Lots of threads on this topic. You will get many reply's.

I own a Windham and love it. Most will likely say stick with the pony.

Good luck and enjoy what you get.

(Butler County)