Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Storage of Pistol and Magazine?

I am a newbie to firearms, but have taken my pistol safety class and been on the range with my Rugar LCP 380 a couple of times. I have a locked safe that I keep my pistol in, and have been keeping it loaded for speed/ease of use. Then I wondered if it is "legal" to store the pistol loaded or if I am supposed to keep the magazine out of the pistol during storage, etc. I specifically mean storage in my home, but am also interested in if there is a different law for carrying in my vehicle, say for times when I am NOT conceal carrying on my person.

Thanks in advance,
    Jennifer

Default Re: Storage of Pistol and Magazine?

You can keep the pistol (or any firearm) loaded while storing it at home.

As far as the vehicle, if you have an LTCF, you can leave it in the car loaded. Some will question the security of leaving any firearm in a vehicle, but there are times when there really isn't any option.

If you do not have an LTCF, you can not have the weapon loaded in the vehicle. You can not have the pistol in your vehicle at all unless transporting it directly to/from excepted places (range, gun shop, gun smith, etc.) You can find these laws in more detail here on the site.

http://reference.pafoa.org/statutes/...out-a-license/
    Last edited by iamtommyboy; March 25th, 2014 at 05:47 PM. Reason: Edited incorrect info

(Bucks County)

Greetings,

Welcome to the group Jennifer. The first reply was right on. I'd really suggest you get your PA LTCF. Even if you have no intention of carry on your person, it makes every type of hand gun transportation (specifically vehicle) much more legally clear cut. There's really no down side to having one. Good luck!

Regards, Jim

(Warren County)

+1 on welcome!

Have you got your LTCF yet? If not, we recommend you do asap. It's a huge deal with respect to legally carrying the pistol.

An unloaded gun is a paperweight.