Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Butler County)

Default Reloading ammo for self-defense

Sorry if this question has been asked before...Probably lots of times. What, if any, are the legal concerns about using my own reloaded ammunition for self-defense?

Is there a legal precedent? Is there advice from any good attorneys about the pros and/or cons of carrying reloaded ammo?

I have read the discussions/arguments made by some that in a court case, one's use of reloaded ammo could be used to argue that there was an intent to cause harm or kill. For someone like me who shoots and reloads for recreation all the time, using reloaded ammo is a common practice...no malice or ill-intent.

Just curious what the learned JD holders on the forum have to say about this.

Thanks.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Reloading ammo for self-defense

Im not a lawyer or a subject matter expert so I'll link you to a reply by Mas Ayoob over at glocktalk for his stance.

http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/show...hlight=Reloads

The expert's opinion is to not do it.

I believe that 1) you'll have the prosecution inevitably say you were so insane you wanted to manufacture your own extra deadly ammo . 2) As Mas indicates in that post it would be hard for a jury to believe your manufacturing and record keeping practices would be up to speed with the likes of Speer, Winchester, etc.

I think if one is insistent on carrying custom reloads they should definitely keep a sample of the carried lot for possible forensics testing.

(Montgomery County)

In case you don't have a glocktalk account or can't access the link:

Quote Originally Posted by Mas Ayoob