Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Blair County)

Default Ruger SR22 feeding and extracting problems

So this past xmas I got my 12yo daughter a ruger sr22 as her first handgun. It's had about 500 rounds through it and it's having some issues feeding. Racking the slide by hand sometimes you have to push it forward to feed the first round out of the clip. The nose will hang up on the feed ramp. Also we have been having some issues with the fired case not extracting from the chamber. Now while this is giving her good practice clearing jams it is an issue and we joined a .22 bullseye league starting in a few weeks. Usually the stuck case needs pried out with a fine flathead screwdriver.

Now I am a budding amateur gunsmith. I have been doing a ton of reading and watching gunsmithing videos and I think I can tackle this one myself. I'm thinking polishing the feed ramp and chamber could fix the problem. I don't have any stones yet for polishing the feed ramp but I do have a rotary tool with polishing compound and attachments. Would this be ok for polishing the feed ramp? Also the technique I have seen for polishing the chamber involves taping a strip of fine grit sandpaper to a rotary tool shaft and spinning it in the chamber letting the centrifugal force press the paper against the chamber walls smoothing them out. Does this sound right? If so what grit would be recommended?

Before you ask yes the weapon is cleaned after each use. I have her take it to the bench, field strip it, clean out the action and barrel, and run a lightly oiled patch through the barrel before reassembly. Even with the weapon freshly cleaned these extraction problems can happen from the first clip. I did notice the extractor spring isn't very stiff, but then again I'm not sure how stiff a .22 extractor should be. I know my xd45 extractor is very stiff.

(Indiana County)

Default Re: Ruger SR22 feeding and extracting problems