Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hello World

(Delaware County)

Default Hello World

Been thinking about getting a handgun for some time, but never had the spending money. Getting serious now, since I'm traveling a lot and know I've got a good tax return coming. I've turned up a number of posts from this site in my web research. So yesterday I took my wonderful wife out to Targetmaster in Chadd's Ford, PA. First time shooting much of anything for her, and first time shooting indoor handgun for me. I've plenty of experience with rifles/shotguns/paintball/airsoft/BB to be comfortable with common calibers.

Looking for a home defense / practice gun for her, and a carry / practice for me. I'm looking for a metal frame full size semi-auto in a cheap caliber so that I can shoot a few boxes a couple times a month and not go broke. She's looking to get a small caliber revolver to keep at home when I travel and shoot just enough to stay familiar.

I'm most familiar with the M9, having seen it every day of my life on MPs/SPs. I rented the Beretta 92FS for myself, and enjoyed it, but she tried it and HATED the recoil and noise. Even before it sent a hot casing down her shirt. Hot flying brass, plus her inability to rack the slide takes all semis right out in her mind - and I agree. In the tight confines of a hallway, wearing pajamas or less, that would be a pain. She rented a S&W Model 63 after just a few rounds in the 9mm. Her fun started when she got to plink some zombies with the little .22LR.