Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lancaster County)

Default PA OC History (prior to 5/9/2008)

I'm fairly new to the existance of PFOA, this web site and OC in PA. I first started reading about OC here just after the DC incident happened.

I've been wondering if there is much history to PA OC, before the people planned to meet at OCB on 5/9/08? Had anything notable (laws, incidents, whatever) happened or changed recently to prompt the 5/9 get together or did this situation sort of evolve and if so over what period of time?

Ranger

(Franklin County)

Default Re: PA OC History (prior to 5/9/2008)

I've been open carrying for about a year now. I've chronicled my own personal experiences in this thread. We've also been having social functions of varying sizes all around the state. OC is not required to attend these events, but is also not discouraged, since it's completely legal. Overall, open carry in PA is a non-event, though when something similar to the DC incident happens, you will see the community band together and address the issue at hand in whatever means is appropriate.
    Get your "Guns Save Lives" stickers today! PM for more info.

(Monroe County)