Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lebanon County)

Question Transfer Question

My grandfathers brother passed away. There was no estate, will, or power of attorney. He had no kids or a wife. I am trying to get the gun transferred into my name. I talked to a couple FFLs, none of them know how to transfer it because there is no one to act as the seller. ATF said there is no issue for them and the paper work problem is on the state level. I get get a copy of the death certificate. What do I do? Thank You

(Dauphin County)

Default Re: Transfer Question

He died intestate. There is an estate, the question is to whom the estate passes. It mostly depends on which of his relatives (including you) are surviving.

Here's a little starter reading material: DYING WITHOUT A WILL - THE LAW OF INTESTATE SUCCESSION IN PENNSYLVANIA

A google search along the lines of intestate succession in pennsylvania will yield additional info.
    I am not a lawyer. Nothing I say or write is legal advice.

(Lebanon County)

The problem with this is that there is no paperwork I can give to the FFL, showing that I am a relative.

(Dauphin County)

Quote Originally Posted by Mr E View Post
    The problem with this is that there is no paperwork I can give to the FFL, showing that I am a relative.
    Someone needs to be legally assigned to administer the estate.

From http://evans-legal.com/dan/faq.html#intestacy:
    Who administers an estate when there is no will (or the executor named in the will is unable or unwilling to serve)?

If there is no will, or there is a will but the executor (or executors) named in the will is unable or unwilling to serve, the Register of Wills is required to issue "letters of administration" to the following persons (and with the following priority):
    • To those who are entitled to the residuary estate under the will (if there is a will).
    • To the surviving spouse.