Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Transferring guns from dead relative?

My uncle died and he left a .25acp handgun and a .22 rifle.My aunt is executor of his estate and was going to turn them into the police station.I said I would like to have them.I own many guns and passing the backround check will not be a problem.My question is what documents my aunt will have to provide at the time of transfer?These guns are from the 70's and only have hand written receipts from the guys my uncle bought them from.I kind of doubt these guns were even registered to my uncle.Will that be a problem?Thanks for your time.

The land o' cotton, old times there are not forgotten

Default Re: Transferring guns from dead relative?

First off, there is no registration in Pennsylvania.

Bequests and intestate succession are exempt from the normal transfer rules. I'm not a lawyer so I don't know if the "intestate succession" would apply.

To do it at a dealer, simply have your aunt go to the dealer and say, "I'm transferring these guns to my nephew." No need for receipts or anything. Don't get oral diarrhea at the gun dealer and start going on about how they belonged to Uncle Fred and Aunt Josie wanted to turn them in to the police, blah, blah, blah. Too much information given out never leads to a happy ending.

If anyone questions anything, the aunt only has to say, "They belonged to my late husband."

Quote Originally Posted by BluesForTheRedSun View Post